Connect with us


Ellis Names Banyana Squad

Desiree Ellis has named a 25-woman Banyana Banyana squad for the Aisha Buhari Cup which takes place in Nigeria later this month.

It will be a first real opportunity for the national women’s team since June, when unfortunately their planned friendly against the Netherlands was cancelled due to the covid-19 pandemic.

Ellis excited about this tournament, and getting the team playing again for the first time since April

“It was unfortunate that the game against the Netherlands was cancelled due to us having Covid-19 positive cases in our camp just before departure. We needed this test especially after the Zambia and Botswana friendly matches in April,’’ Ellis told SAFA’s website. 

“The Aisha Buhari Cup is now very important as it now allows us to play international football again. We have always asked SAFA and Sasol to get us top opposition and we are very excited about this upcoming tournament. 

‘’We know that Nigeria have been very active along with Morocco who have recently played Mali in two international friendly matches. Cameroon has a new coach who is preparing their team and my good friend coach Mercy is also getting Ghana ready for the tournament.

“It’s like a mini AWCON itself. It is an opportunity to test ourselves after having missed a lot of football over the last 18 months both locally and internationally. It’s also an opportunity to have a look at some of the overseas based players that we have not seen since 2019 due to Covid-19 protocols and quarantine regulations in the countries where they are currently playing,’’ added coach Ellis.


Kaylin Swart (JVW FC), Regirl Ngobeni (University of Western Cape)


Lebohang Ramalepe (Dinamo Minsk)

Janine Van Wyk (Glasgow City)

Tiisetso Makhubele (Tshwane University of Technology)

Bambanani Mbane (Mamelodi Sundowns FC)

Bongeka Gamede (University of Western Cape)

Koketso  Tlailane (Tshwane University of Technology FC)


Ntombifikile Ndlovu  (Sunflower FC)

Ongeziwe Ndlangisa  (Sunflower FC)

Oratile Mokwena  (Mamelodi Sundowns FC)

Mamello Makhabane (JWV FC)

Nomvula Kgoale (Tshwane University of Technology)

Thembi Kglatlana (Atletico Madrid)

Refiloe Jane  (AC Milan)

Linda  Motlhalo (Djurgardens FC)

Robyn Moodaly (JVW FC)

Noxolo Cesane (University of Western Cape)

Gabriela Salgado (JWV FC)


Lelona Daweti (Mamelodi Sundowns FC)

Sibulele Holweni (University of Western Cape

Melinda  Kgadiete (Mamelodi Sundowns FC)

Hildah Magaia (Moron BK)

Faya Mandisa (Lindelani Ladies)

Nthabiseng Majiya (Richmond Ladies)

You can read more from Ellis in an iDiski Times exclusive interview in this week’s edition.