Connect with us


MTN Announce Prize Money For MTN8 Cup Winners

MTN have announced that the winners of the MTN8 cup will receive a massive R8 million, while the other seven teams will receive R800 000.

Last season’s top eight will take part in this year’s tournament, with SuperSport United facing Golden Arrows before Orlando Pirates meet Swallows on Saturday. A day later, Mamelodi Sundowns will host Kaizer Chiefs and AmaZulu will welcome Cape Town City.

“The MTN8 tournament will see the Top8 teams from the previous DStv Premiership season coming together in this prestigious knockout competition, well known as Wafa Wafa, Winner Take All, that comes with a grand prize of R8 million.

“MTN will ensure customers and football fans know that It’s Wafa Wafa Time despite the prevailing Covid-19 pandemic that restricts fans from filling stadiums and watching the tournament in the manner they used to.

“Through the Last Fan Standing competition, MTN will reward the cash prize of R1 million to the Last Fan Standing (LFS) to put the consumers and the fans of the beautiful game into the spotlight once again. To enter, the participants need to recharge or buy a bundle.

“To kick-off the tournament, the MTN8 2019 champions SuperSport United will lock horns with Abafana Bes’thende, Golden Arrows on Saturday, 14 August at the Princess Magogo Stadium to secure a spot in the running for the grand prize. 

“From the teams competing in the 2021 tournament, the defending champions Orlando Pirates have won the iconic cup three times, followed by Kaizer Chiefs and SuperSport United, who have won the title twice. Cape Town City won it once, while Mamelodi Sundowns, Swallows FC and are yet to lift the coveted cup.”