No Afcon For Bafana, As They Implode in Sudan

Author: iDiski Times
 | Date: March 28, 2021

Bafana Bafana will not be heading to the CAF Africa Cup of Nation in Cameroon after a disastrous 2-0 defeat to Sudan at the Khartoum International Stadium in Sudan on Sunday evening.

Sudan qualify ahead of Bafana, as they finish on 12 points in the group, 1 behind group winners Ghana. Bafana finish third on 10 points.

Sudan 2-0 South Africa

It was the home team who struck early, as Seif Terry Malik took advantage of some poor marking tog get to the end of a free kick and headed in past Ronwen Williams in just the fourth minute.

Bafana came close to equalising in the ninth minute but a last gasp tackle stopped Percy Tau from tapping in.

It was close again two minutes later as  first Thulani Hlatshwayo’s header struck the cross bar. before Abdullah Abu-Eshrein denied Tau from close range.

Sudan had a call for a penalty in the 23rd minute, but the referee was having none of it and waved play on.

Sudan doubled their lead just past the half hour mark as they counter attacked and Mohamed Abdelrahman had the beating of Williams.

Tau was denied again by Abu-Eshrein just before half-time, as he saved the attempt from the left.

A disastrous first half of football for South Africa as they trailed by two at the break, despite dominating possession, and have eleven shots to Sudan’s three.

Ben Motshwari’s effort in the 55th minute but his shot struck Luther Singh and the goalie was able to gather the ball.

Molefi Ntseki’s last throw of the dice came just half the hour mark as he made a triple substitute, bringing on Ruzaigh Gamildien, Lyle Foster and S’fiso Hlanti for Lebohang Maboe, Singh and Tau.

Abdelrahman went close again for Sudan in the 68th minute, but shot just wide.

Thapelo Morena forced a save from Abu-Eshrein from close range.

Vincent Pule replaced SiyandaXulu and Thabiso Kutumela replaced Themba Zwane for the last fifteen minutes.

And while Bafana threatened, they were toothless, and in the end it was the home team who could celebrate a historic win and qualification. 

Bafana Bafana XI: Ronwen Williams, Thulani Hlatshwayo (C), Innocent Maela, Siyanda Xulu, Thabang Monare, Ben Motshwari, Thapelo Morena, Themba Zwane, Lebohang Maboe, Luther Singh, Percy Tau

Substitutes: Itumeleng Khune, Sfiso Hlanti, Craig Martin, Thabiso Kutumela, Thibang Phete, Sipho Mbule, Ruzaigh Gamildien, Thabo Nodada, Mothobi Mvala, Mosa Lebusa, Vincent Pule, Lyle Foster

Sudan XI: Abdallah Abu-Eshrein, Samowal Merghani, Mohamed Ahmed Aring, Amir Kamal, Paris Abdalla, Nasr Eldin Sheighel [c], Maghoub, Walt Khidir, Seif Terry Malik,  Athar El Tahir, Mohamed Abdelrahman

Free iDiski Times

Trending News

More News