Monday, December 4, 2023
HomeMTN8MTN8 Team Of The Tournament

MTN8 Team Of The Tournament

After the first trophy in domestic football was won by Orlando Pirates, the iDiski Times’ editorial team picked the competition’s Team of the Tournament, including five players from the champions.

Sipho Chaine won the Man of the Match award in the final after saving three Mamelodi Sundowns spot-kicks in the penalty shootout that saw the Buccaneers beat Masandawana 3-1.

But Chaine also made a few great saves in the 90 minutes plus extra-time, which ended goalless. It was his second clean sheet in the competition and he was picked in goal for the Team of the Tournament.

Meanwhile, Chaine’s teammates Thapelo Xoki, Thabang Monare, Patrick Maswanganyi and Zakhele Lepasa also made the selection.

Maswanganyi had the most assists in the tournament with three, while Lepasa won the MTN8 Golden Boot after scoring four times.

Runners-up Mamelodi Sundowns had three representatives in the Team of the Tournament, while Kaizer Chiefs had two and Stellenbosch FC contributed with one.

Full MTN8 Team of the Tournament (by iDiski Times):

iDiski Times
iDiski Times
iDiski Times is one of the fastest-growing football brands in South Africa. Boasting a free weekly newspaper as well as a 24/7 news website with top breaking news in the PSL (DStv Premiership, Motsepe Foundation Championship), women's football and all other major tournaments in South Africa and abroad.