Wednesday, June 12, 2024
HomeDStv PremiershipMokwena Hails Siwelele Faithful And Latest Academy Graduate

Mokwena Hails Siwelele Faithful And Latest Academy Graduate

Mamelodi Sundowns head coach Rulani Mokwena has heaped praise on the support in Bloemfontein and their latest academy product Thando Buthelezi.

Sundowns advanced to the quarter-final of the Nedbank Cup with a 3-1 win over Marumo Gallants in what was a repeat of last season’s final.

Peter Shalulile netted a hattrick and former Sundowns midfielder Boitumelo Pheko were the scorers on the night in an evening that will be fondly remembered at the Toyota Stadium.

With the Free State not having a professional team in the Premier Soccer League (PSL), the passion for a high-profile game was evident as they turned out in their numbers wil close to 20,000 spectators.

“It’s nice to see the Siwelele fans, it’s nice to see they still have their jerseys you know, it looks very good from the outside, it’s a province that deserves to have a football club, it’s a province that loves football,” Mokwena said.

“You see how passionate they are, how vibrant they are, and how positive they are to support football, so it’s positive you know, let’s focus on positives. It was good to see that we gave a debut to the youngster Buthelezi.”

“So we are happy with the work that’s being done and football has a bright future, even in this province, so good positive that, with the supporters.”

Sundowns now turn their attention to Stellenbosch in the DStv Premiership where they face off on Sunday at the Danie Craven Stadium.

Lorenz Kohler
Lorenz Kohler
Lorenz Köhler is an award-winning South African football journalist. Having cut his teeth in the industry working at Kick-Off Magazine, he is now iDiski Times' senior digital content writer. He specialises in breaking top African football stories and transfers with a major focus on the 'big-three' Mamelodi Sundowns, Kaizer Chiefs and Orlando Pirates and CAF inter-club and international competitions. In 2021 he was listed amongst the top-five journalists under 30 in Print Media for the AIPS Awards.