Connect with us


MTN8 Prize Money – Who Has Earned The Most?

Kaizer Chiefs and Orlando Pirates are among the teams who have won the most MTN8 cups since 2008, while Mamelodi Sundowns are yet to win it, but who has earned the most prize money in 13 years?

Pirates are the defending champions, having lifted the trophy in 2020 and have also won the cup more than any other team in South Africa since it’s rebranding in 2008.

As a consequence, the Buccaneers have pocketed the most winner’s money, collecting R24 million overall from their three titles in 2010, 2011 and 2020.

Josef Zinnbauer’s men are followed by Chiefs and SuperSport, who both claimed the cup twice – Amakhosi won it in 2008 and 2014 (the latter under coach Stuart Baxter), while SuperSport lifted it in 2017 and 2019.

The other MTN8 winners are Golden Arrows (2009), Moroka Swallows (2012), Platinum Stars (2013), Ajax Cape Town (2015), Bidvest Wits (2016) and Cape Town City (2018).

Each of them earned R8 million when they lifted the trophy. However, each club also received R800 000 from MTN for just participating in the MTN8 – with SuperSport United being the only team that has taken part in all 13 editions of the tournament since 2008.

As a consequence, Matsatsansa have earned R24.8 million overall – an amount only bettered by triple winners Pirates with R31.2 million. Chiefs complete the podium of the highest MTN8 earners with R24 million.

Sundowns, meanwhile, sit further down the rankings, having pocketed R8.8 million from their nine appearances in the competition, but are yet to win it. 

MTN confirmed that the prize money has remained the same for the 2021 edition, with the winners receiving R8 million and all the other participants getting R800 000.

Story by David Kappel (@kappilinho).