Sunday, July 21, 2024
HomeDStv PremiershipSwallows Dismiss 22 Players

Swallows Dismiss 22 Players

Moroka Swallows have dismissed 22 players who went on strike due to unpaid salaries and caused the team to lose six points in December, as first reported by Robert Marawa on VumaFM.

Swallows has been in the news lately for mostly off-the-field issues. The Dube Birds didn’t play their last two DStv Premiership matches in December after players went on strike due to unpaid salaries, and they have already been punished by the PSL DC for this matter.

They were fined R1 million, with R600,000 suspended, while games were rated as walk-overs and their opponents Mamelodi Sundowns Golden Arrows received three points and 3-0 wins.

On Friday, Marawa confirmed the news, stating the club were addressing the disciplinary issue, after all the players had appeared before an internal DC.

Marawa named all the dismissed players on his show, and iDiski Times has also seen a list with the following names on it:

  • Daniel Akpeyi
  • Thakasani Mbanjwa
  • Buhle Thompson
  • Bongani Sam
  • Mthokozisi Shwabule
  • Sipho Sibiya
  • Lantshane Phalane
  • Ephraim Mangweni
  • Tshediso Patjie
  • Wandisile Letlabika
  • Givemore Khupe
  • Thandolwethu Ngwenya
  • Wade Poole
  • Siyabonga Khumalo
  • Falakhe Tshanini
  • Olwethu Khumalo
  • Strydom Wambi
  • Rampa Mkhuseli
  • Ntsako Makhubela
  • Lindokuhle Mtshali
  • Kwanda Mngonyama
  • Tlakusani Mthethwa

More to follow on this story…

Sinethemba Makonco
Sinethemba Makonco
Sinethemba Makonco is one of South Africa's brightest up-and-coming football journalists. Makonco shot to prominence on social media as a reliable source for South African football news and transfer stories, and is currently working as a junior journalist at iDiski Times.